For your protection, High Desert Driving School carries more than the min. standard.
Our instructors are State Licensed, highly qualified, patient, courteous, male and female. Ref. Education Code 41907. & 41918.
Our classroom environment is well organized, clean, and incorporates the use of visual tools to make learning easy and fun.
All of our cars are well maintained and easy to drive. They have air conditioning and automatic transmissions. Our cars are marked for your safety. Unmarked are available upon request.
We include at no additional charge, defensive driving methods, fuel saving techniques, defensive driving and Target Turning a new technique developed by the owners of High Desert Driving School, Our classroom instruction can be accomplished in 4 days. Ref. Ed. Code 51220. 51220.1 51852.
Our program meets all High School Graduation requirements per the California Education Code.
The costs of the state driver exam is not included in the beginning or intermediate course. It can be added for a fee. Call for information regarding costs for your area.
Yes! We offer company driver evaluations, and will bring you up to date on the newest laws and techniques.
We can set up a program to meet your school needs. Call for more information! Ref. Ed code 41918. 41919.
We have understanding and patient instructors who will help you to overcome your nervousness.
At High Desert Driving School, all of our lessons are private. Our instructors are State Licensed, highly qualified, patient, courteous, male and female.
Yes pick up is available register for the package that applies.
I was issued my provisional driver license on July 1, 2015, when am I eligible to obtain a license without a restriction?
You will be restricted for one year until July 1, 2016, or until your 18th birthday, whichever comes first.
The date located on the bottom right corner of your provisional driver license is when the restrictions began. The restrictions will remain in effect one year from that date or until your 18th birthday, whichever comes first.
You are not subject to the provisional driver license restriction once you turn 18 years of age.
No. You are not required to get a new driver license until your current license expires.
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does not support discrimination. DMV is responsible for ensuring traffic safety. Statistics show provisional drivers are more likely to receive citations or be involved in a serious accident between 9:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. The goal of the law in effect requiring the provisional restrictions is to reduce accidents and save lives.
The restrictions will read: “First 12 months of licensure may not transport passengers under age 20, and may not drive between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. without parent/other driver as specified in § 12814.6 California Vehicle Code (CVC).”
Yes, the restrictions will be automatically removed from your record when the 12 months have ended or when you turn age 18, whichever comes first
I work a summer job which requires me to drive between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. Can I apply for an exception?
CVC § 12814.6 provides an exception for a person who has to work, provided that reasonable transportation facilities are inadequate. You must carry a signed statement with you from the employer, verifying employment and containing the probable date the employment will end.
A-1) Medical necessity: when reasonable transportation facilities are inadequate. You must carry a signed statement from your doctor stating the diagnosis and the probable date the necessity will end.
A-2) Schooling or school-authorized activities: when reasonable transportation facilities are inadequate. You must carry a statement signed by the school principal, dean or a staff person authorized by the principal or dean, indicating when the schooling or school-authorized activity will be completed.
A-3) Necessity of family member: including yourself, when adequate transportation facilities are unavailable and you need personal transportation or to transport a family member. You must carry a signed statement by a parent/legal guardian verifying the reason you must drive and the probable date the necessity will end.
A-4) Emancipated minor: if you have filed documents with DMV to show you are emancipated and have filed either an SR-1P or SR 22 as required by law, you are not held to the provisional driving restrictions. It may be a good idea to carry proof of your emancipated status with you.
DMV notifies all provisional licensees about the restrictions at the time of issuance. It is the responsibility of the driver and his/her parents/guardians to be aware of the restrictions. The information is also available on the DMV website, in the California Driver Handbook and in the Parent-Teen Guide.
Has your friend turned 18 years of age? The restrictions end when a driver turns age 18.
When the restrictions end, will I be mailed a new license without the provisional license restrictions?
No, a new driver license will not be mailed. The system will be updated to show the change and you may go to your local field office and apply for a duplicate license without the provisional license restrictions.